1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

History of the Last Man Standing Match

The results of every televised Last Man Standing Match in WWE History


Randy Orton

Randy Orton is the only wrestler to win the WWE Championship in a Last Man Standing Match.

Steve Haag/Gallo Images/Getty Images

In January of 1999, Mankind won the WWE Championship from The Rock on Monday Night RAW, lost it back to him in an I Quit Match at the Royal Rumble and regained the title in an Empty Arena Match which was televised during half-time of the Super Bowl.  To finally put an end to this feud, the Last Man Standing Match was created.  The rules of it are simple.  The only way to win this match is to incapacitate your opponent to such an extent that they are unable to get to their feet by the time the referee has counted to 10.  Even though this match was designed to end feuds, the first one of these matches proved that a wrestler would do anything to land the knockout blow, even if it resulted in both men unable to answer the 10 count.

Over the course of the next few years, this match was held on a sporadic basis, usually on pay-per-view.  While not annually a part of the show, it tends to take place quite frequently at the pay-per-view following WrestleMania (either at Backlash or Extreme Rules depending on the year).

The Results of Every Televised Last Man Standing Match in WWE History (note: matches in bold represent title changes)

  1. St. Valentine's Day Massacre '99 - WWE Champion Mankind & The Rock fought to a no contest
  2. Fully Loaded 2000 - Triple H beat Chris Jericho
  3. Armageddon 2000 - Chris Jericho beat Kane
  4. Backlash 2001 - Shane McMahon beat Big Show
  5. Unforgiven 2003 - Kane beat Shane McMahon
  6. Royal Rumble 2004 - World Heavyweight Champion Triple H & Shawn Michaels fought to a no contest
  7. SmackDown 1/25/05 – WWE Champion JBL fought Kurt Angle to a draw in a non-title match
  8. Backlash 2005 - Edge beat Chris Benoit
  9. Survivor Series 2005 - Triple H beat Intercontinental Champion Ric Flair in a non-title match
  10. SmackDown 8/15/06 – Undertaker beat The Great Khali
  11. Royal Rumble 2007 - WWE Champion John Cena beat Umaga
  12. Backlash 2007 - World Heavyweight Champion The Undertaker and Batista fought to a no contest
  13. No Mercy 2007 - Randy Orton beat Triple H to win the WWE Championship
  14. SmackDown 12/11/07 – World Heavyweight Champion Batista beat Kane in a non-title match
  15. One Night Stand 2008 - WWE Champion Triple H beat Randy Orton
  16. SmackDown 10/14/08 – Big Show beat Matt Jackson
  17. Cyber Sunday 2008 - Undertaker beat Big Show
  18. RAW 11/10/08 – World Heavyweight Champion Chris Jericho beat Shawn Michaels in a non-title match
  19. SmackDown 1/9/09 – The Big Show beat Triple H
  20. SmackDown 1/16/09 – MVP beat Big Show
  21. Backlash 2009 - Edge won the World Heavyweight Championship from John Cena
  22. RAW 6/22/09 – WWE Champion Randy Orton fought Triple H to a draw
  23. Extreme Rules 2010 - WWE Champion John Cena beat Batista
  24. SmackDown 1/7/11 - World Heavyweight Champion Edge beat Kane
  25. Extreme Rules 2011 - Randy Orton beat CM Punk
  26. Vengeance 2011 - WWE Champion Alberto Del Rio beat John Cena
  27. SmackDown 1/8/13 – Alberto Del Rio won the World Heavyweight Championship from Big Show
  28. Royal Rumble 2013 - World Heavyweight Champion Alberto Del Rio beat Big Show
  29. Extreme Rules 2013 - WWE Champion John Cena fought Ryback to a no contest
  30. SmackDown 5/30/13 - Bray Wyatt beat Jimmy Uso
  31. Payback 2014 - John Cena beat Bray Wyatt

Sources used include: WWE.com and Pro Wrestling Illustrated Almanac

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Professional Wrestling
  4. Ring Results
  5. History of the Last Man Standing Match

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.