1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

History of WWE Vengeance


History of WWE Vengeance

Chris Jericho beat the Rock and Steve Austin on the same night at the first Vengeance PPV event.

Frazer Harrison/Getty Images
The history of the Vengeance PPV event is very confusing. The first event to feature that name took place in December of 2001. Traditionally, the December PPV event was known as Armageddon. Due to the events of 9/11, the WWE chose not to use that name. The Armageddon name returned in 2002 and that resulted in Vengeance moving to July as the event held prior to SummerSlam.

Because of the brand split, starting with the 2003 show it became a SmackDown event. Two years later, the event became a RAW brand PPV and it was moved to June.

2007 brought the end of the brand split for PPV events and the subtitle of Night of Champions was added to the show. The theme of the event was that only title matches would be taking place on the show and that every title in the company would be on the line. In 2008, the Vengeance name was dropped from the show and the Night of Champions subtitle became the new name of the event.

In 2011, the name Vengeance was brought back to the WWE PPV calendar. Unfortunately, it didn't remain on the calendar for long. In 2012, the WWE went from 13 to 12 PPV events and Vengeance was cut from the calendar.

Huge Historical Note
The 2007 event will forever linked to the Benoit family tragedy. This was the event that Chris missed on the weekend he did his horrific deeds.

Title Changes
2001 Hardcore Title: Undertaker beat Rob Van Dam
2001 WCW Title: Chris Jericho beat The Rock
2001 Unification Match: WCW Champ Chris Jericho beat WWF Champ Steve Austin to unify the titles
2002 World Tag Team Titles: Lance Storm & Christian beat Hulk Hogan & Edge
2002 WWE Title: The Rock beat Champion The Undertaker & Kurt Angle
2003 US Title Tournament Finals: Eddie Guerrero beat Chris Benoit
2003 WWE Title: Kurt Angle beat Champ Brock Lesnar & The Big Show
2004 I-C Title: Edge beat Randy Orton to win the title
2006 I-C Title: Johnny Nitro beat Champ Shelton Benjamin & Carlito
2007 Women's Title: Candice Michelle beat Melina
2007 ECW Title: Johnny Nitro beat CM Punk

Vengeance 2001 - San Diego Sports Arena; San Diego, CA 12/9/01
- Albert & Scotty 2 Hotty beat Test & Christian
- I-C Title: Champ Edge beat William Regal
- Jeff Hardy beat Matt Hardy. Lita was special ref
- World Tag Team Titles: Champs The Dudley Boyz beat The Big Show & Kane
- Hardcore Title: Undertaker beat Rob Van Dam to win the title
- Women's Title: Champ Trish Stratus beat Jackie
- WWF Title: Champ Steve Austin beat Kurt Angle
- WCW Title: Chris Jericho beat champ The Rock to win the title
- Unification Match: Chris Jericho beats Steve Austin to become the first Undisputed Champion

Vengeance 2002 - Joe Louis Arena; Detroit, MI 7/21/02
- Tables Elimination Match: Buh Buh Ray & Spike Dudley beat Chris Benoit & Eddie Guerrero
- Cruiserweight Title: Champion Jamie Knoble beat Billy Kidman
- European Title: Champion Jeff Hardy beat William Regal
- John Cena beat Chris Jericho
- Rob Van Dam beat Brock Lesnar by DQ
- No-DQ No Count out: Booker T beat The Big Show
- World Tag Team Title: Lance Storm & Christian beat Hulk Hogan & Edge to win the title
- WWE Title: The Rock beat champion The Undertaker & Kurt Angle to win the title

Vengeance 2003 (SmackDown) - Pepsi Arena; Denver, CO 7/27/03
- U.S. Title Tournament Finals: Eddie Guerrero beat Chris Benoit to become champion
- Jamie Knoble beat Billy Gunn. Due to prematch stipulations, Knoble won the right to sleep with Torrie Wilson
- APA Invitational Bar Room Brawl: Bradshaw won by last eliminating Brother Love
- WWE Tag Team Title: Champs The World's Greatest Tag Team beat Billy Kidman & Rey Mysterio Jr.
- No Count Out Match: Sable beat Stephanie McMahon
- The Undertaker beat John Cena
- Vince McMahon beat Zach Gowen
- WWE Title: Kurt Angle beat champ Brock Lesnar & The Big Show to win the title

Vengeance 2004 (RAW) - Hartford Civic Center; Hartford, CT 7/11/04
- Tajiri & Rhyno beat Garrison Cade & Jonathan Coachman
- Batista beat Chris Jericho
- World Tag Team Title: Champs La Resistance beat Eugene & Ric Flair by DQ
- No DQ Match: Kane beat Matt Hardy
- I-C Title: Edge beat Randy Orton to win the title
- #1 Contenders Match: Victoria beat Molly Holly
- World Heavyweight Title: Champ Chris Benoit beat Triple H

Vengeance 2005 (RAW) – Thomas & Mack Center; Las Vegas, NV 6/26/05
- I-C Title: Champ Carlito beat Shelton Benjamin
- Victoria beat Christy Hemme
- Kane pinned Edge
- Shawn Michaels beat Kurt Angle
- WWE Title: Champ John Cena beat Chris Jericho & Christian
- Hell in a Cell for the World Heavyweight Title: Champ Batista beat Triple H

Vengeance 2006 (RAW) – Charlotte Bobcats Arena; Charlotte, NC 6/25/06
- Randy Orton beat Kurt Angle
- Umaga beat Eugene
- Best of 3 Falls: Ric Flair beat Mick Foley 2-0
- I-C Title: Johnny Nitro beat Champ Shelton Benjamin & Carlito to win the title
- WWE Title: Champ Rob Van Dam beat Edge
- 1996 Kane beat 2006 Kane
- Lumberjack Match: John Cena beat Sabu
- Handicap Match: D-X (Shawn Michaels & Triple H) beat The Spirit Squad (Kenny/Mikey/Johnny/Nicky/Mitch)

Vengeance: Night of Champions 2007 – Toyota Center; Houston, TX 6/24/07
- World Tag Team Championship: Champions Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch beat The Hardys
- Cruiserweight Championship: Champion Chavo Guerrero beat Jimmy Wang Yang
- Tournament Final for the Vacant ECW World Championship: Johnny Nitro (subbing for Chris Benoit) beat CM Punk
- Intercontinental Championship: Champion Santino Marella beat Umaga by DQ
- U.S. Championship: Champion MVP beat Ric Flair
- WWE Tag Team Championship: Champions Deuce & Domino beat Jimmy Snuka & Sgt. Slaughter
- Last Chance Match for the World Heavyweight Championship: Edge beat Batista by count out
- Women’s Championship: Candice Michelle beat Melina to win the title
- WWE Championship Challenge: Champion John Cena beat Mick Foley, King Booker, Randy Orton, and Lashley

Vengeance 2011 – AT&T Center; San Antonio, TX 10/23/11
- WWE Tag Team Championship: Champions Air Boom (Kofi Kingston & Evan Bourne) beat Dolph Ziggler & Jack Swagger
- US Championship: Champion Dolph Ziggler beat Zack Ryder
- Divas Championship: Champion Beth Phoenix beat Eve
- Sheamus beat Christian
- Miz & R-Truth beat Triple H & CM Punk
- Non-title Match: Randy Orton beat Intercontinental Champion Cody Rhodes
- World Heavyweight Championship: Champion Mark Henry and Big Show fought to a No Contest
- Last Man Standing Match for the WWE Championship: Champion Alberto Del Rio beat John Cena

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Professional Wrestling
  4. Ring Results
  5. WWE Vengeance Results - The History of the WWE PPV Event Vengeance

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.