1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

The History of Starrcade


The History of Starrcade

Starrcade: The Essential Collection 1983 - 2000

© 2008 World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
The first Starrcade was held on Thanksgiving night in 1983 and was designed to be the biggest show of the year for Jim Crockett Promotions. In 1985 and 1986, the event was held in both Atlanta and Greensboro. The 1987 event saw the company attempt their first PPV event. However, the WWE created the Survivor Series to run at the same time and almost every cable carrier chose the Survivor Series over Starrcade.

In 1988, Jim Crockett Promotions was sold to Ted Turner and the company was eventually renamed World Championship Wrestling. The 1988 event saw the show moved to December where it would stay until 2000. Under WCW, sometimes the show was the biggest event of the year and sometimes it seemed like a throw-away show. Arguably the most important PPV of the entire WCW era was Starrcade '97, which saw Sting battle Hollywood Hogan in the main event. The final Starrcade was held in 2000. A few months after that show, WCW was purchased by the WWE. In 2009, WWE released a DVD looking back at the history of this very important show.

Title Changes
'83: Ricky Steamboat & Jay Youngblood won the NWA Tag Team Titles from Jack and Jerry Brisco
'84: Denny Brown won the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title from Mike Davis
'85: Krusher Kruschev won the Mid-Atlantic Title from Sam Houston
'85: Buddy Landell won the National Title from Terry Taylor
'85: Magnum TA won the US Championship from Tully Blanchard in an I Quit Steel Cage
'85: The Rock-n-Roll Express won the NWA Tag Team Championship from Ivan & Nikita Koloff in a Steel Cage Match
'86: Tully Blanchard won the NWA Television Championship from Dusty Rhodes in a First Blood Match
'87: NWA TV Champion Nikita Koloff beat UWF TV Champion Terry Taylor to unify the titles
'87: Dusty Rhodes won the US Championship from Lex Luger in a Steel Cage Match
'87: Ric Flair won the NWA Championship from Ron Garvin in a Steel Cage Match
'88: Steve Williams & Kevin Sullivan won the US Tag Team Titles from The Fantastics
'88: Rick Steiner won the NWA Television Championship from Mike Rotundo
'90: Lex Luger won the US Championship from Stan Hansen in a Bull Rope Match
'93: Steve Austin won the US Championship from Dustin Rhodes in a Best-of-3 Falls Match
'93: Ric Flair won the WCW Championship from Vader in a match where if Flair lost he would have been forced to retire
'94: Vader won the US Championship from Jim Duggan
'95: Ric Flair won the WCW Championship from Randy Savage
'96: Ultimo Dragon beat Dean Malenko to win the Cruiserweight Championship
'96: Akira Hokuto beat Madusa in the tournament final to crown a new champion
'96: Eddie Guerrero won the US Championhip by beating Dallas Page in the tournament final to fill the US Championship
'97: Dallas Page won the US Championship from Curt Hennig
'97: Sting won the WCW Championship from Hollywood Hogan
'98: Kevin Nash beat Goldberg to win the WCW Championship
'99: Madusa won the Cruiserweight Title from Evan Karagias
'00: Terry Funk won the Hardcore Title from Crowbar
'00: Kevin Nash & Dallas Page won the WCW Tag Titles from Chuck Palumbo & Shawn Stasiak

Starrcade 1983 - Greensboro Coliseum; Greensboro, NC 11/24/1983
- Johnny Weaver & Scott McGhee beat Kevin Sullivan & Mark Lewin by DQ
- Carlos Colon beat Abdullah the Butcher by DQ
- The Assassins beat Bugsy McGraw & Rufus R. Jones
- Charlie Brown beat Kabuki
- Bob Orton & Dick Slater beat Wahoo McDaniel & Mark Youngblood
- Dog Collar Match: Roddy Piper beat Greg Valentine
- NWA Tag Titles: Ricky Steamboat & Jay Youngblood beat Jack & Jerry Brisco to win the titles
- Cage match for NWA Title: Ric Flair beat Harley Race to win the title

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Professional Wrestling
  4. Ring Results
  5. Starrcade - The History of Starrcade

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.