1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

The WWE Hall of Fame


The WWE Hall of Fame

Ric Flair

(c) 2008 World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

The WWE Hall of Fame was created shortly after the death of Andre the Giant in 1993 as a way to honor him. For the next three years, the WWE inducted multiple wrestlers in a ceremony held in hotel ballrooms. From 1997 until 2003, no one was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The Current Era
Starting in 2004, the induction ceremony has been held the evening prior to WrestleMania. These events have become a big part of WrestleMania weekend and tickets for it can be purchased by the public. The 2004 ceremony was released on DVD set dedicated to the Hall of Fame while the ensuing ceremonies were included as a bonus disc on the WrestleMania DVD sets.

Unlike other halls of fame, there is no physical structure and the selection process has never been made public. There is also the issue that in order to be put into the Hall of Fame, you need to be on good terms with the WWE. This has men that should have been "first ballot" Hall of Famers like Bruno Sammartino and The Ultimate Warrior having to wait a long time to enter and has also led to "Macho Man" Randy Savage still not being enshrined.

Inductees by Year

Andre the Giant

Arnold Skaaland
Bobo Brazil
Buddy Rogers
Chief Jay Strongbow
Freddie Blassie
Gorilla Monsoon
James Dudley

Antonino Rocca
Ernie Ladd
George Steele
Ivan Putski
Pedro Morales
The Fabulous Moolah
The Grand Wizard

Mikel Scicluna
Lou Albano
Jimmy Snuka
Jimmy & Johnny Valiant
Johnny Rodz
Killer Kowalski
Pat Patterson
Vincent J. McMahon

Big John Studd
Billy Graham
Bobby Heenan
Don Muraco
Greg Valentine
Harley Race
Jesse Ventura
Junkyard Dog
Sgt. Slaughter
Tito Santana

Bob Orton
Hulk Hogan
Jimmy Hart
Nikolai Volkoff
Paul Orndorff
Roddy Piper
The Iron Sheik

Bret Hart
Eddie Guerrero
Gene Okerlund
Sherri Martel
The Blackjacks (Blackjack Mulligan & Blackjack Lanza)
Tony Atlas
Verne Gagne

Curt Hennig
Dusty Rhodes
Jerry Lawler
Jim Ross
Nick Bockwinkle
Mr. Fuji
The Sheik
The Wild Samoans (Afa & Sika)

Eddie Graham
Gordon Solie
Jack Brisco
Jerry Brisco
Mae Young
Peter Maivia
Ric Flair
Rocky Johnson

Bill Watts
Dory Funk Jr.
Howard Finkel
Koko B. Ware
Ricky Steamboat
Steve Austin
Terry Funk
Von Erich Family

Antonio Inoki
Gorgeous George
Maurice "Mad Dog" Vachon
Stu Hart
Ted DiBiase
Wendi Richter

Abdullah the Butcher
Bob Armstrong
Jim Duggan
Shawn Michaels
The Road Warriors & Paul Ellering

The Four Horsemen (Ric Flair/Arn Anderson/Tully Blanchard/Barry Windham/JJ Dillon)
Mil Mascaras
Ron Simmons

Bob Backlund
Booker T
Bruno Sammartino
Mick Foley
Trish Stratus

Carlos Colon
Jake "The Snake" Roberts
Paul Bearer
Razor Ramon
The Ultimate Warrior

Celebrity Wing
Pete Rose (2004)
William Perry (2006)
Bob Uecker (2010)
Drew Carey (2011)
Mike Tyson (2012)
Donald Trump (2013)
Mr. T (2014)

Source: WWE.com

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Professional Wrestling
  4. History of Wrestling
  5. The WWE Hall of Fame

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.