1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.
Eric Cohen

2012 Wrestler of the Year

By January 2, 2013

Follow me on:

In addition to winning this award last year, the 2012 wrestler of the year has made history by doing something that has not been done since 1987. He became only the fifth man in wrestling history to hold onto the WWE Championship for an entire calendar year.

Runner-up: John Cena
For the first time since 2003, John Cena went the entire calendar year without holding any championship gold. Despite his lack of championship gold, he was in the final match of six consecutive pay-per-view events where there were no titles on the line. After this unprecedented feat, John would go on to be in the final match of two more shows, only this time the WWE Championship was on the line in both matches. As you can guess from what was written above, CM Punk walked out of both of those matches with the WWE Championship.

Winner: CM Punk
Bruno Sammartino. Pedro Morales. Bob Backlund. Hulk Hogan. Now, you can add the name of CM Punk to the list of wrestlers that have reigned as WWE Champion for an entire calendar year.

Prior Wrestler of the Year Award Winners

Photo of CM Punk: Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images


January 6, 2013 at 10:24 pm
(1) Al Ruffner says:

its so easy to keep a title that long when you don’t wrestle due to injury, or weasle out of bad outcomes by having outside interference. Isn’t there a 30 day clause where you defend or lose the title?

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.